Home Peeps and Places Mesa Places 2017 Mayor’s Youth Committee graduation

2017 Mayor’s Youth Committee graduation

Congratulations to the 2017 Mayor’s Youth Committee graduates! (City of Mesa)

Congratulations to the 2017 Mayor’s Youth Committee (MYC) graduates! This year, 26 juniors and seniors from public and charter high schools throughout Mesa completed the program that began in September. MYC is made up of students nominated by their school principals and counselors.

Throughout the program, students learn the ins and outs of city government, research and present solutions to real city issues and participate in community events.

“I am very proud of all these students and the leadership role they have taken,” Mayor John Giles said. “They understand the importance of civic participation in governance and are dedicated to giving back to their community.”

The students interact with the mayor, City Council and city departments like Transportation; Economic Development; Environmental Management and Sustainability and Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities while working on assignments.

This year, MYC was tasked with finding a way to help the city reach the NextMesa. The teams researched city services and looked for ways to improve them or created a new project, development or initiative complete with timeline, budget and graphics.

The teams presented their ideas to Giles and the City Council who then selected a winning team.

The projects ranged from installing recycling kiosks and library cafes to hosting foodie tours and art exhibitions.

The library cafe team won the competition with their idea about how to make city libraries more engaging for millennials and were treated to a spring training game at Hohokam Stadium.

The 2017 Mayor’s Youth Committee Graduates are: Sarah Alsaeedi, Aubry Black*, Rebekah Black*, Amber Blain, Kevin Cahill, Danijela Covo*, Michelle Deng, Lindsey Freeman, Jaida Grivet, Max Haley, Garrett Harrison, Justin Heick, Joanna Hernandez, Randy Hoang, David Jaffe*, Sophia Larsen, Alex Matsukawa, Dylan Mitchell*, Marcus Mitchell, Mary Phelps, Erika Celina Pinto*, Pilar Rivera*, David Sanchez*, Ben Smith, Jessica Yan*, Jakob Zuraw. (*Graduating with Honors).

For more information about the Mayor’s Youth Committee, visit: http://www.mesaaz.gov/city-hall/mayor-council/mayor-john-giles/mayor-s-youth-committee.

Previous articleFree admission for moms on Mother’s Day at i.d.e.a. Museum in Mesa
Next articleEast Valley philanthropist, honors student to speak at MCC graduation


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.