Home Play MCC MCC students receive national academic honors, scholarships

MCC students receive national academic honors, scholarships

Johnathan Speakman

Mesa Community College Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society students Maxwell Manning, Jacob Riddle and Johnathan Speakman are recipients of prestigious national honors and scholarships.

Maxwell Manning

Manning is one of 10 Phi Theta Kappa members to be named a 2018 Hites Scholar, receiving a $7,500 scholarship from the Hites Transfer Scholarship Program. Also selected as a Coca-Cola Academic Team Gold Scholar, Manning receives an additional $1,500 from the program’s sponsor, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.

Riddle and Speakman are two of 20 college students selected from around the nation to the prestigious All-USA Academic Team. Each receives a $5,000 scholarship for outstanding intellectual achievement, leadership, and community and campus engagement. The All-USA Academic Team is sponsored by Follett Higher Education Group, with additional support provided by Phi Theta Kappa and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Jacob Riddle

Speakman is also the recipient of two additional honors for his academic accomplishments and leadership. Selected from among more than 2,000 students on more than 1,600 U.S. college campuses, Speakman receives a $2,500 New Century Transfer Pathway Scholarship from the Coca‐Cola Foundation, the Coca‐Cola Scholars Foundation, PTK and the AACC. He is also one of 15 PTK members out of more than 3,000 to be named a 2018 Guistwhite Scholar, receiving an additional $5,000 for baccalaureate studies.

“We congratulate Johnathan for receiving these prestigious and highly‐competitive scholarships that recognize outstanding achievements both inside and outside the classroom,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher‐Ladner. “Scholarship programs like these not only recognize student achievement, but also create meaningful pathways for college students to succeed by putting completion within financial reach.”

The New Century Transfer Pathway Scholars and All-USA Academic Team will be recognized at the PTK Presidents Breakfast in Dallas on April 30 during the AACC Convention.

Previous articleA.T. Still Mesa faculty member, alumna receives ADA’s 10 Under 10 award
Next articleFiesta Bowl Charities grant helps Mesa’s Save The Family children


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.