Home Play Jason's Rants Robles, Karantinos among class headed to Hall

Robles, Karantinos among class headed to Hall

Mesa product Anthony Robles is one of seven inductees in the 2017 Arizona Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. (ASU Sports Information)

The 2017 enshrinement class for the Arizona Chapter of National Wrestling Hall of Fame includes two ties to Mesa programs.

Among the seven inductees is Red Mountain coach Nick Karantinos and Mesa state champion Anthony Robles.

Doug Crooks (Goldwater, Boulder Creek), four-time state champion and state-winning coach Sammy Chagolla (Peoria), coach Tom Wokasch (Ajo, Mingus, Queen Creek) and Tom Pierson (Rincon, Sahuaro) all received the Lifetime Service to Wrestling Award.

Dr. Gary Bohay, a Canadian wrestler, earned the Outstanding American Citizen Award. He was an All-American at Arizona State.

Karantinos, who also coached Minnesota, will receive the Lifetime Service Award. He is ranked in the top 10 in career wins with 452 after stints at Ajo, Mountain View and Red Mountain.

He takes over the program again this season with his son, Alex, as a senior after resigning in 2007 to spend more time with his family.

Robles, who receives the Medal of Courage Award, gained national notoriety for being a three-time All-American and winning a national title for Arizona State despite being born without his right leg.

He won two state titles at Mesa and finished with a career record of 129-15.

The ceremony is November 5 at noon. It is will take place at Wild Horse Pass Casino in Chandler.

Tickets can be purchased at :


– Jason P. Skoda is a senior writer for MyNewsMesa.com. Send Mesa-based story ideas to jskoda@mynewsmesa.com.

Previous articleATSU Mesa campus to host back-to-school health fair for children in need
Next articleTop five reasons Dbacks are back in the playoffs


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.